top of page

Self Development - Planning



For this semester I intend to primarily develop my Unity and C# scripting abilities, with the end goal of being able to make at least rudimentary prototypes of my design concepts. I plan to split this into two basic unity projects, focusing on different areas.

Firstly, UI, from my current plans for my games essential experience, I suspect UI and the presentation of information and story will take a more significant role than gameplay, thus making it an important focus for my self development.

Secondly, build a movement system that includes a dash, or modify James premade movement script; I think this will help me understand vectors and programing movement.



As a second development goal I would also like to improve my 3d modelling abilities, currently I feel that I am fairly confident with hard surface modelling in blender, so I plan to focus particularly on rigging and animation.


 

Part 1 - Self Development - UI


End Goal : begin work on a UI that allows for:

UI Windows that can be opened and closed

Choosing dialog options

Dragging windows around the game view.

How to Achieve this

Week 1: Before starting to build the UI I will first brush up on Unity, I feel that I am weakest at scripting, which I had difficulty with last year, while use of the Unity engine came fairly naturally


 

bottom of page