top of page

Self Development: Beginner Scripting

Planning :


Over the last few weeks I've been working through the Unity Learn beginner scripting tutorial [https://learn.unity.com/project/beginner-gameplay-scripting?uv=2019.3], I plan to finish the tutorial this week and attempt to use the skills to make a basic white box prototype of one of my game ideas.




Google 2 session :

I worked through some more of the Unity Learn tutorial, pausing after the instantiate tutorial to experiment with the functions. I created a projectile firing script as shown in the tutorial, and due to a misplaced "down" in the phrase GetKeyDown I accidently made more of a projectile fountain, I found the physics of this interesting so I experimented with it further.

I then modified the destroy script, that removed the projectiles, so that it would leave ones that had been caught on screen and only delete them if they fell too far off the platform I created


Finally I made a script for camera movement, which I'm quite proud of, it allows for movement in 3 axis using Unity's input manager, and has a sprint function which increases the speed your camera moves.

While all of these scripts are still very basic I feel that they show that I've improved significantly. I'm very happy with my work and ability to understand and grasp these scripts considering how out of my depth I felt at the beginning of the year.


quick demonstration of these scripts in action



Update: 18 / 11 / 2020


I decided to try to make a script that would create a ring of objects around a central point, placing each object with a delay, then steadily decreasing the objects scale to 0 before deleting it. I hope to create something that ends up looking something akin to a loading icon.









I quickly found that creating objects in a circular pattern around a point wasn't very straight forward. I found some code that created objects randomly in a circle around a point, and adapted it to fit my needs. I also dissected the code and commented each lines function. I found this to be a helpful exercise in understanding code, and found myself learning a significant amount about how angles are processed in unity.



Using this I made a script that creates objects in a circular pattern, next to instantiate them in a sequence.



Update: 23 / 11 / 2020


I went back to the beginner scripting tutorial and finished that last few bits, then returned to my loading icon esque unity project. The next thing I wanted to do was have the spheres shrink to 0 scale over time, I at first was a stuck on how to have a number decrease to 0 over a set period of time, but after putting some thought into the problem I realized I was over complicating it for myself, and it would be much easier to simply subtract a specified number per unit of time.


Next I wanted to have the spheres start at 0 scale and very quickly scale up to 1 when it spawns.

Recent Posts

See All

Group Feedback and Ideation

06/11/2020 Group feedback with Philip and Kiera: Since I was still fairly undecided on how to move forward I described both of my ideas detailed in the gameplay loops post to my peers, after talking a

bottom of page